1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

electric miles are more costly than gas miles???

Discussion in 'Gen 1 Prius Plug-in 2012-2015' started by vajratlr, Nov 4, 2013.

1. vajratlr

vajratlr Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I live in southern CA where my current rate plans are 4 tiered. Let's assume I will go to tier 3 which is $0.27/kWh. Which means to charge a PiP from empty would cost about $1.19 ($0.27x4.4 battery size). I'm not an electrician, but that seems to be the logical way to calculate the cost. For $1.19 that gets you roughly 11 miles. But with gas, using my old 2010 Prius, I get 50 miles a gallon($3.75/gallon).

gas, it's about $0.08/mile
    eletric, it's about 0.11/mile

What am I doing wrong here? Economically, it doesn't make sense to charge. And if gas prices fall.....

2. SJ PiP

SJ PiP Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    each full charge is ~3.3kwh (PiP prevents full chg/dischg).

with my tiered rate plan, electric charge $/mi can be more than gas $/mi when all these conditions are met...
    - toward the end of a billing cycle when i'm in higher tiers
    - middle of the day "peak" hours
    - "summer" six months of the year (in "winter" six months, pretty much always cheaper than gas)

whenever the $/mi is close, i like to charge anyway to save on ghgs!

3. Tracksyde

Tracksyde Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    a full charge on a PiP is more like 2.9kWh* because its usable battery capacity is only about 65% of the 4.4kWh (85% when full and 20% when the engine comes on).. just call it 3kWh.. at $0.27 per kWh, its more like $0.81 per charge to go about 12 miles.. multiply that by 4 (assuming you get 48MPG on gas and for ease of calculation) and that would be about $3.24 per gallon