Electric power from a hybrid, connecting inverter to the high-voltage system

Discussion in 'Knowledge Base Articles Discussion' started by ChapmanF, Mar 28, 2021.

  1. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    18,651
    12,449
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I have seen some threads recently complaining about PM not working. I have received PMs in the past, but none since mid-May, it looks like. It's a feature I hardly ever use.

    I think this topic is interesting, which is why I started this thread and collected links to all the other threads I could find where different approaches were being worked out. When I find new information on the topic, I try to add it here. I don't really try to add a lot of my personal opinion here.

    But here's one: as for working on new specific approaches to this general thing, I'm not sure it wouldn't be best to start other threads specific to those approaches, work their details out there, and link to those threads here. That way this thread wouldn't get super long and tangled, and would stay mostly an introduction to the idea with links out to detailed threads.
     
  2. Primefan

    Primefan Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2021
    43
    9
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    LE
  3. hill

    hill High Fiber Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    18,125
    7,133
    54
    Location:
    Montana & Nashville, TN
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    FYI, plug out power says no dice for their appliances as hopes of using the RAV4 Prime.

    .
     
  4. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    18,651
    12,449
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    What's the sticking point? Voltage too high?
     
  5. C Wagner

    C Wagner Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2020
    172
    47
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Maybe make a wiki in that section about this?
     
  6. hill

    hill High Fiber Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    18,125
    7,133
    54
    Location:
    Montana & Nashville, TN
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    The box. The way it's terminals are configured & sealed up like no body's business they say.
    .
     
  7. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    18,651
    12,449
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
  8. Randy B

    Randy B Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    99
    22
    0
    Location:
    NH
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    For those who happen to have a Toyota or Lexus hybrid, the PlugOut would be good to look at.
    Randy Bryan
     
  9. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    18,651
    12,449
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    For the newest readers, Randy's introduced back in the first post.
     
  10. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    18,651
    12,449
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
  11. douglasjre

    douglasjre Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    1,191
    438
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    I'm finding the most I can draw off a turd gen 12v system is 2KW before V drops near 11VDC. Def gonna want to hook up to the 208-230VDC battery. Sent msg to the solar guys. Any other leads?
     
  12. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    18,651
    12,449
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    And if you even manage to draw that much, you've shown the converter's published specs to be conservative, as they're 120 amps, or around 1.7KW, of which the car has to use at least 0.4KW, and you're also above the rating of both the 125 amp fuse in the front fuse box and the 140 amp in the battery clamp (if you're on the battery side of that).

    So yes, for those levels of power, the kinds of solutions linked in this thread will be the ones of interest.
     
  13. Randy B

    Randy B Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    99
    22
    0
    Location:
    NH
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Haven't followed the entries closely, but what is the intended use? What loads are wanted?
     
  14. douglasjre

    douglasjre Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    1,191
    438
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    1.21 gigawatts of course! Just want to get more than two kilowatts without taxing the system
     
  15. Randy B

    Randy B Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    99
    22
    0
    Location:
    NH
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Prius can provide up to 3.6kw reliably.
     
Loading...