1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Engine rattle and lack of power

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Wespo Prius, Mar 10, 2018.

1. Wespo Prius

Wespo Prius New Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Hi everyone,
    I'm new to the Prius. I bought 2011 with 103 k miles and had it for 3 weeks. Everything was working great until yesterday afternoon. When I tried to drive back from work and started it up as soon as the ice engine turned on horrible rattle came from it. Engine was shaking and not running smoothly. Car was to weak to drive and engine was almost choking when I tried to add more gas. I had to have it towed to my mechanic but he has hard time to find out what the problem may be.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thank you

2. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Bookmark these videos by @NutzAboutBolts :

Nutz About Bolts Prius Maintenance Videos | PriusChat

For a first step, I would check out the EGR (Exhaust Gas Recirculation) pipe (video #16). This is a connector pipe between the EGR valve/cooler and the intake mainifold, relatively easy to access, and it's condition will give you some insight as to the rest of the EGR system, upstream. The EGR system has been turning out to be very prone to clogging, and is a strong possiblity to be involved.

If the pipe has significant clogging, and in any event, the next step would be full cleaning of the EGR circuit (video #17)

Also while there you can clean the throttle body (video #14).

It's also an opportune time to clean the intake manifold (video #24)

Another thread, on EGR:

EGR & Intake Manifold Clean Results | PriusChat