1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Ensuring road worthiness on a 08 Prius sitting for 1.5 years

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by johnnymot, Dec 4, 2014.

1. johnnymot

johnnymot New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    A Prius newbie here in a most unusual way with a major question: What should I do (and have the dealer do) to make an 08 Prius that has been sitting for 1 year 8 months ready to make a 1200 mile road trip.

Here's the background and info: My girlfriend left her Prius in her Garage while we went out west to work. It's been 1 year and 8 months since we've been able to get back with the intent to drive the prius back west the 1200 miles. We arrived today, opened the garage and inspected the prius. Immediately, rodent droppings everywhere on the car.

When I lifted the hood, a mouse (or rat maybe) ran away (sort of) and there was rodent urine and droppings everywhere. Fearing the worst, I looked for nests, eaten wires etc, but could find none. The mouse did re-appear of course, but I hope it left. Other than the droppings and urine, I could find no evidence of damage. We jumped the battery and in about 10 minutes of charging, the Prius cranked and ran fine, although the 12v battery or course, still weak. I pulled the air filter, and underneath in the intake/air duct was an actual rodent nest I removed.

We aired the tires back up (all were at about 15psi, but no cracking, rot, flats etc), and drove the car and it ran fine.