Entune iPhone App Quite A Mess - and Toyota Thinks I'm an Idiot

Discussion in 'Gen 1 Prius Plug-in 2012-2015' started by sjsamdrake, Jun 7, 2012.

  1. sjsamdrake

    sjsamdrake New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    9
    1
    0
    While commuting to work through stop-and-go traffic I (unwisely) struggled to listen to Pandora through the Entune app ... for 15 minutes. Unsuccessfully. (It has worked before).

    1. The Entune app had been started in my (Verizon) iPhone 4 the previous day. When I tried to start "Apps" on the car this morning there was a long pause, and it eventually complained that I needed to start the iPhone app. Which was running. So I force-quit it (while driving) and restarted it (while driving). At this point I could get into the Apps on the dashboard.

    2. Pandora started, showed my list of channels, and said that it started playing a song. It displayed the song title and artwork for the song it claimed it was playing.

    But there was no audio. I adjusted the volume.

    I switched channels; this time it brought up a song title and album art, but said it was "Paused". I pressed the "play" button on the Pandora app screen numerous times to try to get it to un-pause, but other than it beeping when I pressed "play" nothing happened.

    3. I exited and re-started the Pandora app on the car.

    4. I force-quit and re-started the Entune app on the phone.

    5. I could never get Pandora to utter a sound.

    So I exited the Pandora app on the car, and selected BT Audio. Then started up the Pandora app on the phone. Ta daa, worked great.

    SO ...

    1. Why wouldn't the Entune version of Pandora play anything? Why was it Paused? How was I supposed to start it?

    2. Why should I bother with any of this, if it means I'm distracted for many minutes while driving, frantically killing and restarting various buggy apps on various platforms? And all the while I could simply use the Pandora app on iOS which works perfectly?

    ---

    Here's my other question about the NAV unit, and the car itself. Prior to my new Advanced PiP I had a 2005 Gen-II Prius with NAV, so I know how it used to work.

    Why does the PiP think it knows better than me what displays I should look at?

    The Gen-II did what I said. If I pressed AUDIO, it showed me the audio screen. If I pressed MAP, it showed me the map. Great!

    The PiP's NAV system thinks that I should only be allowed to see the map. If I press Audio, it will deign to show me the audio screen for a few seconds, then it returns me to the map (which it knows is the only thing I should be allowed to see).

    The PiP itself has the same broken behavior. I carefully use the Display button on the wheel to select the display I want to look at ... then I spend the rest of my drive fighting with the Radar Cruise Control over whether it, or I, control the screen. "There's a car in front of you!" Poof ... the display I want to look at goes away. Put it back. "The car's gone!" Poof ... the display I want to look at goes away AGAIN. Repeat every 10 seconds for the entire drive.

    Look, Toyota. Show me what I ask you to show me. Period. Don't keep resetting it.

    ---

    I really like the car, and absolutely love the radar cruise control. But Entune is a rather worthless (and seemingly potentially dangerous) piece of junk, sad to say.

    And the car's insistence that I'm not smart enough to decide which data I want to look at is extraordinarily frustrating.

    So ... huge strides forward on the car ... and huge steps backwards on the in-car electronics and displays. I'm not loving the new car anywhere as much as I had hoped. :(

    ...Sam
     
    mdaltman likes this.
  2. SimiPrius

    SimiPrius Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    247
    60
    0
    Location:
    Simi Valley,Ca
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    The PiP's NAV system thinks that I should only be allowed to see the map. If I press Audio, it will deign to show me the audio screen for a few seconds, then it returns me to the map (which it knows is the only thing I should be allowed to see).

    I think there is a setting in the system that defaults to the map....you can change this.....
     
  3. Diddlywop

    Diddlywop New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    30
    0
    0
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    I agree about the radar screen popping up continuously...it's like fighting a war to keep the screen you want on display....so far I haven't found a workaround....maybe a software update from Toyota if enough of us complain?
     
  4. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    41,903
    13,467
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Technology
    The Audio Screen auto-switch is a customisable setting (Settings --> General --> Auto-Screen Change [or similar]).


    As for the DRCC, it is annoying but I can see why it does it. It has to tell you that it has lost contact with the vehicle, otherwise you would think it's still locked onto the vehicle and then if anything happens, people will sue Toyota.
     
  5. sjsamdrake

    sjsamdrake New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    9
    1
    0
    In that case there's no realistic way for me to win against Toyota, as I would have no evidence. "The car display didn't show a car in front of me, I promise!" would be my cry ... with no evidence to back it up. And since the car in question would be just a few meters in front of me, easily visible with my eyes ... the accident would be my fault regardless.

    On the other hand, if every few seconds of my entire commute Toyota resets my displays, and distracts me several times during every single minute of my daily commute ... I suspect I have a far better case against them when I crash. The current software INTENTIONALLY distracts me constantly. Much easier win for me in court. :)
     
  6. CharlesH

    CharlesH CA HOV Decal #5 on former PiP

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    2,634
    1,061
    0
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Actually, they may have the evidence from the "black box" recorder in the car which records events leading up to the accident (as implied by an air-bag deployment?). But what exactly is recorded is a top secret at Toyota, and the box has to be sent to to their facility to extract the info, so it is not likely that anything that would help your case would be "found".
     
  7. CharlesH

    CharlesH CA HOV Decal #5 on former PiP

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    2,634
    1,061
    0
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    You can also click the "Map Mode" button, and select "Audio", to get a split screen with the map on the left and a (reformatted) Audio screen on the right. It took me a while to find this, since you have to turn the status bar on the bottom "On" to see the Map Mode button.
     
    Tideland Prius likes this.
  8. RiverRat

    RiverRat Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    24
    7
    1
    Location:
    Huntington Beach CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    I agree with the PO. I would like to keep my eye on the road more. I find myself switching to get to a screen I want only to have it switch back to what Toyota's lawyers think is best for me. What did the focus group think about this? Please enable more settings in an update, so I can set my own defaults.
     
  9. CharlesH

    CharlesH CA HOV Decal #5 on former PiP

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    2,634
    1,061
    0
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I would think lawyers trump focus group. If they were responsive to users in this area, they would provide an option to enable the various features that are disabled while in motion, rather than requiring after-market hardware to bypass the restrictions.
     
  10. rogerv

    rogerv Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    1,639
    317
    14
    Location:
    Simi Valley, California
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I'm sure glad I bought the basic model and don't have to deal with this stuff. Entune was bad enough until I simply turned it off. I have no need to check stocks, sports, gas prices, etc from my car, and my iPod gives me the music I like without some computer program selecting music I might like. The display shows the current tune and artist, and stays there. My wife thinks that's cool, but since they are my favorite songs, I already have that info in my head.:rolleyes: And, having experienced dynamic cruise control on several other cars, such as Mercedes and Lexus, I'm happy to manage my own C/C, thank you. :p
     
  11. CharlesH

    CharlesH CA HOV Decal #5 on former PiP

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    2,634
    1,061
    0
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    What was your experience with the dynamic cruise control on the other makes? Like for sjsamdrake, it works great for me, allowing me to use cruise control in traffic conditions where manual cruise control would be impractical. Set a maximum speed and let it maintain a specified minimum distance to the car ahead, using regenerative braking to slow down as necessary.
     
  12. devprius

    devprius /dev/geek

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    979
    290
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    We have DRCC in our 2004 Sienna. Personally I love it. The speedometer has a small LCD screen that shows the status of it including distance setting (short, medium, long), the set speed, and whether it has detected a car. I've rented a Gen III (non-PiP) that had DRCC in it. I seem to recall that the DRCC screen would come up when a state change occurred, but that it would go back to the previous screen after a short bit. I understand the OP's frustration, but if they are using DRCC in a situation where it is constantly switching back and forth from car detected to no car detected, then it sounds like it is in heavy traffic, and no sort of cruise control should really be used in that situation.
     
  13. sjsamdrake

    sjsamdrake New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    9
    1
    0
    In the PiP DRCC doesn't switch back. It takes over the screen whenever anything happens, and never switches back to your choice. At least that's what it's doing for me.

    Settings -> General -> Auto Screen Change = OFF did indeed tame the NAV's need to override me...thanks for the info!

    So the two remaining issues are (1) broken Entune and (2) how to tame the DRCC's need to override me.

    ...Sam
     
  14. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    41,903
    13,467
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Technology
    Wait til a PCS warning activates lol. I'm sure you'll have more to say on this topic (and I do as well. I find PCS more of a pressing [read: distracting] issue than the DRCC screen imo)
     
  15. jabecker

    jabecker driver of Prii since 2005

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    448
    78
    1
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    As the former owner of a 2005, I am so with you on this! What I really miss are the voice commands that used to be available with the Nav. Why, why, why, does Toyota want me to keep taking my eyes off the road to read useless lists of things and push buttons that I used to be able to control via voice?

    Entune, as far as I can tell, is pretty useless. There's nothing there that I don't have on my phone already. I have no need to make dinner reservations, check stocks, or buy movie tickets while driving.
     
  16. rogerv

    rogerv Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    1,639
    317
    14
    Location:
    Simi Valley, California
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Using DRCC in light traffic conditions on our freeways, I found that cars in adjacent lanes on curves would cause my car to slow down, and then pick up speed again as the roadway straigtened out. I prefer to adjust my speed myself, whether by lifting off the throttle or toggling the C/C stalk if I need to slow down a bit, and then re-engaging it when the conditions warrant it. At times the DRCC systems I've experienced weren't as smooth in the transitions as I like to be. When I'm chauffeuring clients in their own cars, I'm trying to give them, as racing legend Jackie Stewart used to say in the Ford commercials, "smoothness and consistency." I have not driven a PHEV with DRCC, and it may work differently with the regenerative braking.
     
  17. bielinsk

    bielinsk Gremlin

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    505
    115
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim
    Vehicle:
    2013 Chevy Volt
    Model:
    N/A
    What screen do you need to see when DRCC is engaged? Its all mileage stuff that you are not in control of anyway.

    And don't forget, you are driving the car. If you get into an accident with DRCC engaged, unless you can prove negligence against Toyota, you will be held liable. DRCC is a tool to help you drive, not a replacement.

    Now here is a question, is there any way to turn off DRCC and just use a standard cruise control?
     
  18. devprius

    devprius /dev/geek

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    979
    290
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Yes, according to page 320 of the manual, you can activate "Normal" mode by turning CC on and pushing the CC stalk forward for about a second. This is the same way it operates in our 2004 Sienna. If you turn cruise control off and then back on, it will default back to DRCC mode.
     
  19. rogerv

    rogerv Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    1,639
    317
    14
    Location:
    Simi Valley, California
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Returning to the original thread subject, I finally put an END to Entune altogether. I uninstalled it from my phone. If Toyota thinks I'm an idiot, that's their problem. I can't recall seeing so much useless (to me) stuff on a car ever before. And on top of that, as the OP says, it's distracting to try to use the system. U.S. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood is encouraging states to pass stricter laws against distracted driving, and the auto manufacturers are trying to put all the features of your desktop or laptop in your car. Go figure......:confused:
     
  20. devprius

    devprius /dev/geek

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    979
    290
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    My only complaint about Entune on my phone is that a) I have to remember to plug it in to get data, and b) I have to periodically restart the Entune on the phone in order to get data to work. I find that the traffic info is very useful at times (though sometimes I question it's attempts to route me around traffic jams). While I haven't used the Fuel Prices app in the car itself, I have used the Fuel Prices app on the phone to find cheap gas for myself when I was in a different car, though I wasn't the one driving at the time. I've used the weather app a few times. The rest of the apps (Bing, Pandora, Sports & Stocks) I haven't tried. Pandora doesn't really interest me. Between the iPod function of my iPhone, the standard radio, and the satellite radio, I've got more than enough music to listen to.
     
Loading...