1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Experiences With Other Toyota Cars

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Ravenlocks, Apr 16, 2006.

1. Ravenlocks

Ravenlocks New Member

Hello everyone,

I was just replying to a previous posting about the Prius being my first Toyota purchase. Being I am new to the car, I was wondering how everyone else felt about other Toyota makes along with the Prius? How reliable they really are? Experience with the Toyota dealerships themselves? Any horror stories about other dealerships or cars? Just curious....

Kim

2. galaxee

galaxee mostly benevolent

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    my husband has an 87 camry. he loves that thing. runs like a top- needs a couple things worked on but hey, that's expected for a car that's almost 20 years old with 250k on the clock. he got it last year to replace the 88 camry that would not die- the body was so rusted out he had to junk it.

he still has the engine to said 88 camry sitting on his work bench.

with proper maintenance these cars will last a lonnnnnnng time. the highest mileage vehicle that goes to his shop for service has over 500k miles on it and still ticking. well, not ticking, and that's the good thing. ;)

dealerships all conduct their own businesses their own way, and unfortunately like any other area of business, there are some bad ones out there. i'm rather outspoken about finding a good dealer, working with them, and recommending them to others to point business away from the bad places to send a message. if you do experience a bad dealership, loudly complain to toyota regional offices as they're very concerned about their company's image. (if only you could see the video clips they throw in their training modules!)