1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Extension cord recs when there’s no info on outlet

Discussion in 'Prime Plug-in Charging' started by Inkyspace, Jan 16, 2018.

1. Inkyspace

Inkyspace New Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    So I’m totally new to this and find the topic a bit confusing so hopefully someone here can help me.

I live in an apt bldg and have access to an outlet in my parking garage but the outlet is fairly high up on the wall. I definitely need to get an extension cord in order for my cord to reach. The problem is I have no idea what the voltage or amps or anything is of the outlet since I really can’t get close enough to the outlet to read it. I’ve asked my building manager but they have not been much help. They can only help me get a ladder and find a way to hang the cord once I purchase one. What would be the safest extension cord to buy for my Prius Prime Advanced when I know nothing about the outlet?

Also does anyone have a link for somewhere that explains the whole voltage/amps/AWG/gauge stuff in simple easy to understand language for a newbie?

2. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    1) Toyota warns you against using any extension cord.
    2) if it is a 110 volt outlet, it is almost assuredly 15 Amps. It is not assuredly a GFCI outlet as it should be to safely protect humans while you charge your Prius.
    amazon.com/Receptacle-Power-Outlet-Socket-Tester/dp/B01IR2OZ7Q
    3) the thicker (lower number gauge) the extension cord the better.
    amazon.com/dp/B01IN11IJ4/ref=twister_B01N5Q9SSB?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

Can you photograph the receptacle and post the picture here?

15 amp 110 volt receptacle with polarity
    [​IMG]

#2 JimboPalmer, Jan 17, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2018
    Elektroingenieur likes this.
  3. padroo

padroo Senior Member