1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

External music for safety

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by PoulStaugaard, Oct 23, 2007.

1. PoulStaugaard

PoulStaugaard Now a PriusOwner

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    I only just ordered my Prius, so I have no experience of how much of a safety problem the quietness is in relation to pedestrians. But I think it would be a great idea to install gentle music under the hood so that they will hear you. Has anyone done it, and if so, what reactions have you had ?

2. Vagabond

Vagabond Active Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I would run up to you with a dollar and ask for an ice cream cone.

3. qbee42

qbee42 My other car is a boat

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    The quietness isn't a safety issue, unless you drive with your eyes closed or talk on the cell phone while drinking a soda. Seriously, it isn't much different than with any other car; you have to pay attention.

Tom

4. Doc Willie

Doc Willie Shuttlecraft Commander

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    I just disconnected the middle front speaker from my sound system. Seems to me to be a good tap for an external speaker (if you can get through the firewall) or a subwoofer.

OTOH you could buy a cheap portable radio and stick it in front of the radiator.

5. skguh

skguh Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Or beep the horn.

6. donee

donee New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Hi Pol...,

In the parking lots, just roll the front windows down, and turn up the audio to an appropriate listening level.

In the rest of the driving situation, pedestrians on cell phones, or with music players are not going to hear any coasting car. So, horn them, even when you are not in a Prius, if they make any movement torward the road.

7. RobH

RobH Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius