1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Factory Service Manual

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by Mike Anderson, Mar 26, 2017.

1. Mike Anderson

Mike Anderson New Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Just purchased my first Prius today. 2013 2 with 42k. Love it so far. I'm new to the Prius but not to hybrids. Had a 2003 Civic Hybrid 5spd that was a gem. I put 300,000 (original clutch!) on it until the pack shorted and caught fire.

I'm a DIY'er and IMHO the most invaluable tool for a DIY'er is a good FSM.

Haven't had much luck finding one for the Prius. I'm talking a real-deal FSM that I can purchase. Anyone aware of where one can be had? I used Helm for the Civic. They have nothing for the Prius other then owner's manuals.

2. ChapmanF

ChapmanF Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Toyota stopped printing dead-tree versions around 2011. Everything now is at techinfo.toyota.com and all hyperlinked (and, since they are no longer constrained by physical page count, the amount of detail covered is increasing ... they'd be really really thick if you tried to print them).

The wiring diagrams are especially interactive and handy; you can click individual wires or components and the circuits highlight and you can follow them around (on the page, and between the schematic view, physical location view, connector pinout view, etc.).

Especially pay attention to the "NCF" tab; that's the New Car Features manual, which is the one that shows you what all the stuff is and what it does when it's working right and how. The remaining manuals only talk about diagnosing when something isn't working right, and assume you already know what's supposed to happen from the NCF.