1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

FE with Steel v. Alloy Wheels?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by rpg51, Oct 29, 2008.

1. rpg51

rpg51 Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I just purchased some snow tires (Nokian Hak R) mounted on a second set of factory alloy 15 inch wheels for my Prius. I will install them this weekend. When I removed the mounted tires from the back of my car last night I noticed that they are extremely light weight - suprisingly so. I had just finishing the job of installing my wife's winter tires on her Corolla which are the same size as the Prius, which are on steel wheels, and the weight difference between the alloy and the steel rims and tires is remarkable.

I'm curious - how much does the total weight of the wheel and tire (steel v. alloy) affect fuel economy? Is it a significant factor? I'm no engineer but I do remember reading sometime in my life that rolling weight is much more significant that static weight - might have been in my old mountain biking days when we were all obsessed with minimizing weight on tires and rims.

2. rpg51

rpg51 Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Nothing? Did I put this in the wrong forum?

Seems like this might be an interesting question for all those folks considering steel wheels for winter tire use. The question is - should I get steel or should I get alloy? Is there a fuel savings with alloy? If so, now much?

3. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I think you're in the right forum, a lot of stuff goes through and sometimes a good question like this gets missed by those with the knowledge to answer.