Feature Suggestions | Bug Report - Share your ideas.

Discussion in 'PriiDash (TM)' started by 2009Prius, Jun 26, 2011.

  1. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,698
    463
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Feature Suggestions | Bug Report - Share your ideas.[FONT=&quot] (Visit the main thread and project home page if you haven't.)[/FONT]
     
  2. usbseawolf2000

    usbseawolf2000 HSD PhD

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    14,487
    2,934
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lee, NJ
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I have not gotten time to play with it today.

    Nomograph didn't seem to be working. The line was not straight when I tried it out yesterday.
     
  3. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,698
    463
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    I haven't looked at that for a long time. It updates quite slow so there will be moments when the line is not straight, but IIRC it should be straight most of the time. Here are some pictures from long time ago when I first did the nomograph:
    http://priuschat.com/forums/gen-ii-...un-early-problem-detection-2.html#post1224867
    Please let me know if it still doesn't work for you. Thanks!
     
  4. usbseawolf2000

    usbseawolf2000 HSD PhD

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    14,487
    2,934
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lee, NJ
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Ok, is it slow because you are getting other data all at once? If that's the case, is it possible to separate it into another page since MG1 and ICE rpm change quickly?
     
  5. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,698
    463
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Yes and yes (but will take some time).
     
  6. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,698
    463
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    115200 baud for bluetooth test

    Attached. Test only. May not work.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. usbseawolf2000

    usbseawolf2000 HSD PhD

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    14,487
    2,934
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lee, NJ
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Thanks, will give it a try. We are still going through Irene and replanning our one week delayed vacation.
     
  8. ccdisce

    ccdisce Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    257
    137
    0
    Location:
    Stone Mtn GA USA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Re: 115200 baud for bluetooth test

    Ok I downloaded the file and it works with the laptop driving a Roving Networks RN-42 Bluetooth-UART connected to a SprakFun UART-OBDSol_STN11xx in the driveway and for a mile on the road when it goes into the familar lock-up mode.

    I think the problem is the chopped up packets caused by the slow (115200 bps) uplink speed. The documentation says that Bluetooth algorithms may chop up the data packet and cause problems further upstream.

    The intent this weekend is to set the Bluetooth speed higher to 1000000bps using the SZ command, change the Bluetooth algo latency using the SQ command and run the 1Mbps version of the PriiDash application.
    I may end up having to incorporate the changes that seem to be required by the USB Link method.
    w.

     
    2 people like this.
  9. SteveDH

    SteveDH Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    47
    9
    0
    Location:
    London UK
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Add Command Line options

    Just wondering if it was possible to add command line support so that you could set the baud rate and enable/disable the debug log.

    just a though
    Steve
     
  10. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,698
    463
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Yes those are on the to do list. Setting baud rate and other parameters are straightforward to code. The log files need more work.
     
  11. rhc3v6

    rhc3v6 Red Hat Certified Engineer V6

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    5
    0
    0
    Location:
    Middletown, NJ 07748
    Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    Model:
    I
    Can I help with development of this for a GEN I Prius? I have a 2003 and could REALLY use this app! I have Linux laptops and desktops and am RHCE V6.
     
  12. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,698
    463
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Sure go ahead. Just mark clearly all the changes you made. I am sure many gen 1 owners will be grateful for your effort. Thanks! :)

    For the GUI please use fluid to edit the dash.fl file and from there let fluid generate the dash.cxx and dash.h files. Thanks!

    If you could hold on for a few hours I will upload the most recent version tonight. Update: uploaded here:
    http://sourceforge.net/projects/priidash/
     
  13. nh7o

    nh7o Off grid since 1980

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    1,686
    311
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    This is a great program and group. While I find it impressive as it is, and I want to say thanks again for all the work that has gone into it, my one comment is that the GUI is a bit more info rich than I can make use of while driving. In particular, I am most concerned with monitoring data that changes relatively slowly, mostly related to the temperatures of the main components, and the condition of the battery systems. Also, I do not use the GUI to read data that is already in the MFD or on the dash. Clearly some of the other details are useful to someone doing a hyper-miling research project, but I am more concerned with keeping things cool.

    With that in mind, I have put together a first pass at a simplified set of gauges. I hid the ones that seem optional (to me) and enlarged the ones that are of most interest so as to make a quick glance all that is needed to seem them on a small screen. I have attached a screen shot and the resulting file, call it priidash_lite.fld (get rid of the txt). I don't have the compilation software setup, so I am hoping that someone would be able to create a version using this file. I have been using the Windows executable in XP. This ought not change any of the logging functions, if I am not mistaken.

    Any comments or suggestions?
     

    Attached Files:

  14. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,698
    463
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Thanks! I am away from home for a few days and will take a look when I get back. One thing I think of now is that if you have deleted some gauges then the compiler will complain. You need to find a way to hide but not delete the gauges that you don't need.
     
  15. nh7o

    nh7o Off grid since 1980

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    1,686
    311
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Ah so, I wasn't sure about what depended on what. I have updated the above priidash_lite.fld file to include all gauges, unchecking some of the attributes "Visible" and "Active", instead of deleting them.
     
  16. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,698
    463
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    It doesn't seem that you started from the most recent version of Dash.fl file (attached for your convenience). Could you redo it? Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  17. nh7o

    nh7o Off grid since 1980

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    1,686
    311
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    No, I didn't look for releases....so here is priidash2_lite.fl. Engine specific at the top right, temp gauges bottom left, hybrid specific on the right. Any suggestions as for inclusions or further deletions?
     

    Attached Files:

  18. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,698
    463
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    OK it looks like I have made changes since last release but it's small enough change to merge. Attached is the CygWin binary. I only tested in simulation mode but it seems to work OK.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. nh7o

    nh7o Off grid since 1980

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    1,686
    311
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I still have not gotten CygWin going here, but will do so. It will take some time to download all that, due to my Internet connection. Perhaps someone could make another Windows executable, as with the previous version.
     
  20. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,698
    463
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    I just uploaded new version including Lite and Win32 exes at the project web site:
    PriiDash | Free Science & Engineering software downloads at SourceForge.net

    I only tested briefly. Somehow windows version still only gets ~ 1/2 of the CAN messages even though I turned on some optimization flags in VC2010. Sometimes the windows version loses COM port connection and I have to unplug and replug the USB cable.

    Give it a try.