1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

First Impression of Toyota Dealers

Discussion in 'Dealers & Pricing' started by Hummerhonda, Aug 8, 2007.

1. Hummerhonda

Hummerhonda New Member

I'm a newbie. This is my first post, and unfortunately, it is negative.

A year ago I purchased an Odyssey over the internet. I requested 10 quotes and got two quotes within 30 minutes via email. I spoke with two competing dealers and bought the van 20 minutes later. Got a great deal and the process was effortless.

Right now, I'm looking for a Prius and requested quotes from 10 dealers. In the first 4 days all I received were auto-response emails telling me that my quote was on its way. Then I got a second round of emails asking me how the quote process was working for me. The only thing that was missing was an actual quote from any dealer! I sent quote requests to dealers with Prii in stock.

Anyone's experience similar? I'm not going to beg for a quote. Either they give me one and I work with them or they are off my list. I'm searching for a Base +Pkg #3 which is in short supply, but only one dealer even came back with a "Hey, we don't have a #3 would you settle for a #2 or a #4?".

My worst experience (so far) with one dealership Don Woods Toyota in Ohio went like this:

- Configured vehicle and requested vehicle via Edmunds.
    - Got autoreply email stating my quote was on the way.
    - Got another autoreply email stating my quote was on the way.
    - Got a third email, this time from Don Wood stating how they wanted me to call them to set up a visit.
    - Replied to email stating I wanted a quote on the car I configured.
    -Got a call two days later in the morning to schedule my visit. I asked if she had a quote for me and she said no. I told her to take me off the list and not to call.