1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

First time driver

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by easterlingman, Nov 7, 2005.

1. easterlingman

easterlingman New Member

Hi everyone! I've been lurking for a while and following Prius news for the past six months ago - in that time I've come to see how high a value the Prius holds and how satisfied you guys are with your cars. The only thing is that I'm a first time driver; this will be my first car purchase. Is there anything I should watch out for, or perhaps should I decide on a different car for my first? Any tips or clues would be appreciated, as I am absolutely clueless.

2. wrprice

wrprice Active Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    By "first time driver," you mean this will be your first new car -- not that you don't have experience behind the wheel, correct? While it's a fine car either way, I wouldn't want to drive such a nice vehicle if I wasn't absolutely certain that I wouldn't accidentally bang it up. But I'll assume that's not the case. :)

It's a worry-free car as long as you do the scheduled service and don't let your gas tank run too low. I can certainly think of worse vehicles to purchase. If it fits your budget and you like the look of the car and you're willing to pay for the options in one of the various packages... and you're going to get a new car anyway... a Prius would be a great choice. It also doesn't hurt, knowing that cheap gas is long gone.

3. BrianTheDog

BrianTheDog New Member

Your first car ever? As in, you haven't driven a car before? Or just never owned one? Are you just getting your driver's license?

This is my first new car purchase. Always had "new to me" cars before. I've driven new cars... ones belonging to family & friends... and I always thought they were nice (and sometimes cool) cars. But I've never felt I had to have one. Not until this car.