1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Floormat recall question

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by joyceww, Nov 13, 2009.

1. joyceww

joyceww New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    I have searched and not found much information on this issue here. I have been driving my 2008 Prius for 14 months and in all that time my floor mat that came with the car has not moved a teeny bit. I do not see why it would move as the underside is thousands of rubber prongs that grip into the carpet below and it is still in its original non damaged shape. But I just got the recall letter from Prius and it looks like my car is included. It seems crazy to not remove the mat if it is a danger, but I can't figure out how it could even happen. Anybody know?

2. firepa63

firepa63 Former Prius Owner

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    The way I read the "recall" is the problem is with mats that don't have holes for the hooks that hold the mats in position. These are mainly non-OEM mats. Personally I am not removing mine and the mats are held securely with the hooks and rubber grips and can't slide forward to interfere with the gas pedal. It's really a personal choice about removing them. I think Toyota has a bigger problem and it's not being caused by the floor mats.

3. paprius4030

paprius4030 My first Prius

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    :confused:Don't worry about it! I was hoping to get a new floor mat but I guess not Like the person said above me, the problem is with aftermarket floor mats

4. Celtic Blue

Celtic Blue New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    I removed mine...but not for the recall...and not permanently. No, I installed my Weathertech all weather mats for winter, same as last year. Yes, they have clip holes. The OEM fabric mat goes back in when warm weather returns.