1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

freeway merging

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by artie, Jul 3, 2006.

1. artie

artie Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    i live in san diego, r/t commute of 78 miles, i use cruise control, slow lane of f-way, at about 63 mph; in this manner, i have a lifetime gas mileage of about 51.3 miles per gallon, now at 55,000 miles. when folks are merging on to the f-way, i get over to let them in. now that i have been driving this way for 2+ years, i have observed that when the merging driver enters the f-way, the driver does so slowly, taking care and lots of time to get up to speed (which is always faster than me). in the meantime i have to troll in the 2cnd lane , speeding up (my mph!) to comply w/ the 18 wheeler breathing down my neck, until i can scoot back into the slow lane.
    my wish is that people would "give er the gas" and get up to speed. i never realized how slowly people, at least per my observations, merge. plus as we all know the merger is supposed to yield to oncoming traffic in the first place, as if that happens.
    no, just come on in, at your leisure, welcome to the flow.

i've always wanted to rant on a board. i won't do it again.
    no, i don't feel any better. or worse.

2. tumbleweed

tumbleweed Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I agree with you, I think a lot of folks have had it drummed into their heads that slower is better for so long that they think it applies to acceleration also. Tests by BMW and others have proven that more rapid acceleration (not full throttle but perhaps half or so) thus getting up to speed more quickly saves gas. The tests I saw were conducted with conventional cars, I suspect the same may be true with the Prius but I have no data to back it up. The trade off of course is getting worse mileage for a shorter period of time.