1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Fuel economy with Thule rack/bike attachments

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by czvekslak, Nov 17, 2007.

1. czvekslak

czvekslak New Member

Hi All,

I am planning on purchasing a Prius either used or new in the spring. I work as a bike industry sales rep in Metro NY driving over 30k miles a year. I have been driving a Subaru Outback, while the care is very durable, plenty of space I average aroud 22-23MPG and gas is back to $3. I often need to carry sample bicycles on the roof. I use a Thule rack with 3-4 fork mount attachments. What kind of fuel economy drop can I expect while there are no bikes on the roof? I would have a fairing on. I know the hitch mount would be a better choice but getting to the trunk with bikes on the back is a pain and I will need to put a Thule storage box on top here and there.

My main goal is to cut my gas bill in half, I hope this can happen even with the rack on.

Thanks for help on this topic.

2. omgitsroy326

omgitsroy326 New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(czvekslak @ Nov 17 2007, 10:50 AM) [snapback]540914[/snapback]</div>

There's really no real formula to calculate your exact mpg.

1) If you're driving mainly local at low speeds.
    You will use your electric motor more. Drag will be minimal (since it's grow in the second power). Getting 45 mpg is realitic.

2) Mainly highway at speeds high as 70mph average. Then it will be harder to achieve 45mpg.

3) Temperature also matter. If you're in the snow all day long..

There's a lot of things to consider. But getting double or close to double... i'd say give it a shot.. I drove 8 miles today and averaged 99mpg. Then i drove more local aggressively uphill and got 37mpg. So again it depends on everyone's driving style and commute.