1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

1. alanwagen

alanwagen Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I have new 2009 so I am still learning all about it.

I have not been able to locate the fuel filter. So where could it be?

2. ph43drus

ph43drus Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I read somewhere recently that the fuel filter is built into the gas tank (!?) and really can't be changed without removing the tank. This seems mind-boggling to me, but that's what I read. Poster opined that this was the case on many current cars.

Can't seem to find that post again, but here's a thread with pictures showing a destructive disassembly of a Prius gas tank.

http://priuschat.com/forums/prius-technical-discussion/30593-gas-bladder-exposed.html

One of the pictures is labeled

This picture makes me think it would be essentially impossible to replace the filter, that you'd have to replace the entire tank assembly.

3. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    The fuel filter indeed resides within the fuel tank and therefore is not separately replaceable.

4. qbee42

qbee42 My other car is a boat

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    As it is on many modern cars. Fuel contamination is not a common problem, at least in this country.

Tom

5. angelinadavid

angelinadavid New Member

Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    Fuel filter is near to the tank where you fuel it.... it is not kept separately it is near to tank... but in modern cars i do how are placed...

6. richard schumacher

richard schumacher shortbus driver

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Yep. Forget about ever replacing it yourself.

7. jayman

jayman Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius