Gas engine won't run. Prius V 140,000 auction car no prior history

Discussion in 'Prius v Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Cactus Chuck, Feb 10, 2020.

  1. Cactus Chuck

    Cactus Chuck New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    24
    8
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    I bought this car at an auction, I think someone has done this before. I read their thread but did not shed any useful info.
    Facts:
    • Press power bottom, car goes to ready for 5ish seconds then goes to ACC mode with all the dash lights on.
    • Brand new 12v battery.
    • Fob key working.
    • Traction battery shows 1 bar
    • When I check the oil after the tow truck delivered the car, it had no oil. Filled it up with mobil 1 0w-20. No leaks on the floor
    • It appears the car was sitting in the lot since November.
    • Two codes from the DTC stick out to me but I don't think this codes prevent the engine from running (May be run lousy but run non the less) Codes are for the throttle position sensor and for the camshaft position. (I'll post the exact code later.
    • I looked inside the throttle to inspect for sticky or dirty door but it was clean, I noticed some oil pulled in the bottom of the throttle but did not remove the throttle to see how much oil there was.
    At this point I'm about to have tow to a dealer or a reputable mechanic. But I want to exhaust all my options before that. I Have reset the computer codes and nothing, also tried the "Emergency start" suggested on the owners manual (ACC mode then Brake+Hold power for 15 sec)

    The only thing I have not tried is the "Maintenance Mode" where the gas engine is supposed to stay running. If I do that, and get the engine to ru will that charge the traction battery?

    Thanks y'all!
     
  2. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    1,846
    698
    1
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Sounds bad coming with no oil and the gas engine won’t start. It requires the 201v battery to start the engine. A bad inverter usually won’t allow a ready. I do not like the camshaft position error which could prevent a start if the sensor is open or shorted. You may need need a more advanced scanner like Techstream to see all the codes and to know the actual charge level on the 201vdc battery. Dr Prius app can get some of those battery codes including state of charge. Overall if you are not somewhat knowledgeable on a gen3 prius, the smart thing to do is to get a dealer diagnosis.
     
    Raytheeagle and Cactus Chuck like this.
  3. Cactus Chuck

    Cactus Chuck New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    24
    8
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Thanks, What you say sounds right. I looking in to checking the voltage and health on the battery.
    And I had no idea the camshaft will prevent the start. By the way the actual code is P0012 Intake (a) (Bank 1) Camshaft position timing over/retardant.
    Do think that if I get a ready for a short period before it goes back to ACC a bad inverter can be ruled out?
     
  4. Cactus Chuck

    Cactus Chuck New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    24
    8
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Codes:
    :(
    • C1259
    • P3000
    • P3191
    • P3190
    • P0121
    • P0012
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Rmay635703

    Rmay635703 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    1,346
    845
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2013 Chevy Volt
    Model:
    N/A
    Turn the car on, flat tow it behind something in drive pushing the brake slightly

    does it regen?

    my guess is a bunch of stuff is faulted out, need to figure out what is failed, compression check may be a start.

    goid luck
     
  6. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    1,846
    698
    1
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    You are getting Ready and then a cold engine attempts to start. Sound like the car fails at that time, likely because it did not start. I doubt maintenance mode will do anything because its purpose is to keep the engine on after it starts. It is likely most of those codes are false. The one that seems obvious is: FE370B72-1C8F-4ECD-84FB-EA4EB270725D.jpeg
     
    Cactus Chuck likes this.
  7. Cactus Chuck

    Cactus Chuck New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    24
    8
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Yea, I think so too...Some users point to check the voltage of the traction battery and address the other codes like the the throttle. Have you cleaned the throttle body before? The Chilton manual says that the gasket is not reusable. Is this also true?
     
  8. hotelprisoner

    hotelprisoner Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    58
    42
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Technology
    Does the engine turn over by manually turning it over at the crankshaft? ie any chance that it’s seized? Just looking at the big picture of the story those codes are telling and the situation you’ve related.


    iPhone ?
     
    Cactus Chuck likes this.
  9. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk 'Orrible Oracle

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    37,589
    26,363
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I've had the throttle body off 4~5 times, never changed the gasket. Torque values for the throttle body hold-down bolts/nuts in the attached.

    I see every gasket in the picture (in the attachment) is indicated as "non-reusable". Even the plain steel ones. That's Toyota being pig-headed. Obviously at some point replacement of the flexible gaskets IS warranted, but kinda ridiculous, to make a blanket statement, to replace them all, every time.

    Still, I think that one bar of charge displaying for the hybrid battery is the culprit.
     
    Cactus Chuck likes this.
  10. Cactus Chuck

    Cactus Chuck New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    24
    8
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Me too...I'll have the throttle clean this weekend and after that, If I can't find any one around Dallas with a #prolong charger who is whiling to rent it to me, I'll tow it to the dealer to see if they will charge the battery (Somehow). I'm hesitant to buy a Prolong system myself since I'm not sure I'm keeping this car.
     
  11. Cactus Chuck

    Cactus Chuck New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    24
    8
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Update: I just ran test with ELM 327 (Which by the way, purchased a MicroMechanic at target for $14 and used Car Scanner for android to get the info I needed)
    Hybrid Battery Pack Remaining Life 5%
    Hybrid Battery Vol 192V
    Battery block V05 - 13.8V (Lowest)
    Battery block V14 - 14.19V (Highest)
    Based on this, the traction battery is too low to turn the gas engine...? I know someone also suggested to manually turn the engine to rule possible locking of the engine due to low oil and cleaning the MAF and throttle. Question, once all other possibilities are ruled out, how can I get passed the low Voltage on the traction battery? I would want to avoid towing it to the dealer or a repair show where they can hold the car hostage, so to speak, since it does not run.
    Also, the numbers above would not be affected by weather too much right? When I took the readings it was 42°F outside
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  12. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk 'Orrible Oracle

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    37,589
    26,363
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    That doesn't look good, low overall voltage, and wide disparity between blocks. I measured mine with Dr. Prius in the Fall: overall pack voltage was 221, and max difference between blocks 0.10 volt.
     
    Cactus Chuck likes this.
  13. Cactus Chuck

    Cactus Chuck New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    24
    8
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Yea, I'm now looking to get the pack reconditioned with a grid charger. Now, more and more the theory that the previous owner was having issues with the battery and led to having the car towed and ultimately unclaimed.
    I'm going to make a thread to see if anyone is selling / renting / lending a grid charger
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
Loading...