1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Gen 1 Prius as a hobby

Discussion in 'Generation 1 Prius Discussion' started by ginkelvanmichiel, May 7, 2023.

1. ginkelvanmichiel

ginkelvanmichiel New Member

Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello to everyone out here!

I'm from the Netherlands and tomorrow I wille be seeing a 2001 Prius. My daily driver car is a Chervolet Bolt EV, so I'm not uncommon to cars with HV batteries, and I've been working on cars for quite a few years.

The seller of the (cheap!) Prius told me there 'could' be a problem with the HV battery, as a readout said, but I'm wondering what you think of the following:

When you turn the key the car gives no error messages. You'll put it in drive, accelerate, nothing wrong. Then, a traffic light turns red, you'll press the brake, car idles for a while, fuel engine turnes off: voila: error message.

The car itself has been stationary for almost a year before it was sold. First thing that came to my mind was that the 12V battery is depleted (a bit), but on the other hand, hence the care wasn't used for a long time the HV battery wasn't charged either...

I contacted the previous owner a year ago, and at that point the car didn't give any errors.

So what do you think? Is it possible that the HV battery depleted during the stand still? Or is this a common problem with older (140.000 miles) HV batteries? I can easily swap the battery pack with my knowledge, but if it isn't necessary I will not swap it ;)

Unfortunately I don't have any of the error codes.

2. Tombukt2

Tombukt2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base