1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Gen 2 Individual battery modules replaced, but still get triangle of death

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by sli, Nov 7, 2017.

1. sli

sli Junior Member

I am pretty new at trying to service my Gen II 2006 Prius. It has 155k miles on it.
    After the triangle of death showed up initially, I read quite a few threads on this forum on battery module replacement and decided to give it a try.

I replaced 3 modules and put the HV battery back into the car. I was able to start up the car and actually drove it around. It seemed to act normal, somewhat like before the triangle of death showed up.

However, the triangle of death is still showing and so is the little car icon with the exclamation mark on the MFD. The HV battery SOC seems normal. Prior to replacing modules, it was jumping up and down erratically and the HV fan was at full blast as soon as I start the car. Now the fan did not turn on for the short trail drive that I did.

I believe my 12 V battery is also weak, it is about 5 years old so I have been using a battery boaster to slow charge it. I am hoping that I can prove the HV battery is holding up before spending another $200+ to replace the 12 V battery.

I don't have those scan tools. Is there a way to clear the triangle of death with the scan programs?

TIA.

2. ericbecky

ericbecky Hybrid Battery Hero

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    - Turn the car on to READY and back off 5 times.
    - unhook the 12v battery for 5 seconds.

If the problem is no longer present, then the lights should go away.

It is worth the (under $50) expense for a tool/app that can help you see live data as well as clear codes.

I've attached a photo of the kind of info you can see live. All battery block data, for instance. Screenshot_20171107-084127.png Screenshot_20171107-084127.png

Totallylost and Raytheeagle like this.