1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Gen 2 TPMS solution

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by donzoh1, Dec 22, 2023.

  1. donzoh1

    donzoh1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    434
    149
    0
    Location:
    Lenexa, KS
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    My Gen 2 recently generated a TPMS code. I checked and found air pressure was good all around and tried resetting the TPMS. No change. I figured at that point at least one of the off brand sensors I replaced 2 years ago was dead. I went to Walmart and they checked with their cute little scanner finding the left rear tire sensor dead. I got them to replace that sensor with a generic one for $30 complete. I'm sure there will be more failures ahead but this option short-term seems to be working. The Walmart guy also to me that his OBD2 scanner was $5000 to replace if it breaks or goes missing. :(
     
  2. Moving Right Along

    Moving Right Along Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    687
    539
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    When I replaced my TPMS sensors (all 4 of them) when I got new tires, I had to go to a dealership to get them properly synched with the car, despite buying the tires elsewhere. In my opinion, if you care about the sensors and one dies, you might as well replace all of them at the same time, since the others likely aren’t far behind.
     
  3. Tombukt2

    Tombukt2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    8,083
    1,396
    0
    Location:
    Durham NC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Yes by the Pacific branded green label TPMS sensors for the generation 2 That's who makes all the wheel hardware for your car from the factory to confirm this look at the back of your center caps on your wheels what word do you see and begins with the p. Those sensors on eBay from Pacific are like $43.80 The guy with the $5,000 scanner that's probably got the tool that resets the car to the tire pressure sensors immediately without entering in a bunch of numbers that is a thing now It's a lot faster than sitting there with a laptop at the car entering in eight or nine digit numbers but it can be still be done that way if you like you'll need to know where they are on the car initially to enter them in after that it doesn't matter. The best thing to do with this is when you do your CM monitor display repair remove the speaker off the back of the CM monitor eliminates all the noises and knock out any of the lights you don't like In my case the TPMS would have to go as would the seat belt flashing red light other than that everything else would stay.
     
  4. Carall

    Carall Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2023
    126
    31
    0
    Location:
    Harrisonburg, VA
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I just replace the battery in the original sensors and they work like new.
     
  5. mr_guy_mann

    mr_guy_mann Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    3,246
    1,355
    0
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Most people don't have the capability to replace the battery in a "sealed" TPMS sensor (and have it be reliable) - OR don't think it's worth the effort.

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  6. rjparker

    rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    7,591
    4,449
    7
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    the Walmart scanner might cost $5k but you can buy a TPMS relearn and scanner device for less than $300. However $30 all in at Walmart is a deal that is hard to beat or believe.