Gen 4 Infotainment re-booting itself while driving?

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by aprilfva, Mar 28, 2016.

  1. ATHiker

    ATHiker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    624
    549
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    If one percent of US Gen 4 Prius owners took thier cars in to have this problem addressed by the dealer under warantee, you would have 900 cases on file to review.

    If five percent of US Gen 4 Prius owners took thier cars in to have this problem addressed by the dealer under warantee, you would have 4500 cases on file to review.

    Surley a company as sophisticated as Toyota tracks these things.

    Or do the engineers and decision makers just not want to share this kind of stuff with the marketing and sales folks?
     
    FF/Medic likes this.
  2. RCO

    RCO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2016
    3,709
    5,176
    0
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Feedback is supposed to be a two-way street. Unfortunately, human individuality may introduce flaws and exceptions either by design or accident. No it is not ideal but it's hardly unique either.

    Kudos to @Prius Team for his invaluable efforts on our behalf.
     
    #102 RCO, Dec 16, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2016
    Prodigyplace likes this.
  3. Prodigyplace

    Prodigyplace Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    11,698
    11,286
    0
    Location:
    Central Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Here is an idea from another thread. Are any of you using third-party USB cables with your phones? Apparently that can cause the Prime display to shut down.
    See Screen shuts down constantly. | PriusChat
     
  4. RCO

    RCO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2016
    3,709
    5,176
    0
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Mixed blessings for me. I'm using android phone, which doesn't match well with the Prius, however, for navigation I've chosen Waze on the phone. It's a drag that the app is so power hungry, but intend to get one of those 2 amp USB female on a cig lighter plug in that @raspy mentioned.
     
    Prodigyplace likes this.
  5. bbald123

    bbald123 Thermodynamics Law Enforcement

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    386
    270
    0
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    This is the setup I use all the time. 2A cig plug charger with a 2A rated cable from Anker for my Nexus 6P
     
  6. RCO

    RCO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2016
    3,709
    5,176
    0
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I got A7.0 on my Nexus 6 as a beta tester and it seems perfectly fine. Did you get Nougat on your 6P and if so, what do you think of it?
     
  7. bbald123

    bbald123 Thermodynamics Law Enforcement

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    386
    270
    0
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Currently running 7.1.1 and I like it fine. A bit more stable and slightly faster. Incremental improvement is the best in my mind which is why I love Toyotas.
     
    RCO likes this.
  8. mkutner

    mkutner Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    12
    15
    0
    Sorry for the super slow follow up... I have a feeling that the rebooting problem is somehow related to HD Radio. I turned off HD Radio and did not see any reboots. At my car's next regular service, I asked the dealer about the infotainment system rebooting problem. The dealer's debugging strategy was to "Delete All Personal Data" (which includes unpairing phones) and ask me to watch what happens for two weeks. I set some radio presets (which included HD Radio enabled) and the system rebooted twice a week later. (This debugging strategy felt like an attempt to push blame onto the paired phone, but that's another topic.) The dealer then proceeded to replace the "Radio Tuner Assembly" under warranty. At the bottom right corner of the infotainment system display, I see that the model number remains unchanged (510053). In the "Software Update" screen, I see that the Hard No, Audio, and Audio System versions have all increased.

    I'll report back later if I see the reboot problem again.
     
    RCO likes this.
  9. ATHiker

    ATHiker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    624
    549
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    narf and RCO like this.
  10. The Lawnmower

    The Lawnmower Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    2
    2
    0
    Location:
    Newport Beach CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    I believe it is a software conflict with HD radio and Bluetooth.

    I have owned my 2017 Prius 3 Touring for 6 months. I drove 30mi today and my center console must have reset about 15 times on my drive. This is the first time this issue has happened and I scoured the internet for a solution. 95% of the time I listen to XM radio and my Bluetooth is turned off. Today was different. I listened to a FM HD station and had to make a call so I had my Bluetooth turned on.... Afterward I went back out to my car and drove around the neighborhood. Only used XM radio. No problem. Used XM + Bluetooth. No problem. Used HD FM. No problem. Used HD FM + Bluetooth. Problem. Radio and center console kept resetting and turning off and back on every 3 min or so. Ran through the same sequence multiple times and it produced the same results. So there seems to be a conflict with either the Toyota/Android/MMS software that is causing this issue. Would like to know others thoughts if they had this problem and if this corrected it.
     
    RCO and Mendel Leisk like this.
  11. narf

    narf Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    611
    44
    4
    Location:
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    My Entune system just started rebooting again. I had this problem a year ago. they updated the firmware and it has been fairly solid until about a month ago. Now one out of every 4 or 5 starts the little phone logo in the upper right corner doesn't appear, whether my phone is in the area or not. Then yesterday it rebooted 3 times in about 3 minutes. When it finally settled down it had forgotten the home screen setup. I guess I'll deal with this at the 20k checkup.
     
  12. Teqjax

    Teqjax Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    6
    4
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    My 2017 Prius Four Touring is doing this. Happens about 70% of the time when making a call via bluetooth, about the same when I try to activate Siri. Definitely seems to be a bluetooth issue to me. It has always done it, but its been a lot worse over the last month or two.
     
Loading...