1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Gen III - 2010 Prius II - Too Good to be True?

Discussion in 'Dealers & Pricing' started by acanete, Mar 28, 2010.

1. acanete

acanete New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I have been shopping for a Prius II (2008-2010) New or Used that is priced reasonably (somewhere below invoice -taking account dealer incentives, etc...).

The best quote for a brand new Prius II in my area is $20,980 before taxes and all the other fees. This is very reasonable in my opinion when I compare to what others seem to be paying.

Here is my dilemma: I am also considering getting a used Prius as I have a budget that I want to stay within. I have opened my search Nationwide as I am willing to have the right car shipped.

Yesterday I got a call from a non-Toyota dealership letting me know that they had received a 2010 Prius II (Blue) as a trade-in with only 3300 miles on it. Their asking price was $20,900 and would be sold As-Is with the original manufacturer's warranty still in place. I visited the dealership and drove the car, inspected the bolts in all the doors, hood trunk, and those that I could see to make sure there weren't any hidden accident repairs that weren't disclosed (my brother works for a dealership and suggested this). So all in all except for the Toyota Certified Warranty it appears the car is in great condition. After a brief negotiation and the dealer saying he wouldn't go below $19,500 because he'd rather wholesale at that point, they said they would let the car go for $18,000.

I am planning on going back this morning and buying this car. Is there something I missed and is the $18,000 too good to be true? Another Toyota dealer that I had been in talks with said it was too good to be true and that surely there was something wrong with this car.

Please advise. I don't want to miss out on an opportunity or get taken by the same.