1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Generic blank key wth chip 3 blinks, pause, 3 pause, etc..?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Jeff54, May 19, 2015.

1. Jeff54

Jeff54 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Generic blank key with chip 3 blinks, pause, 3 pause, etc..?

Ok 1st off I know this subject has been hashed 100's of times because, I read through most of them.

8 days ago I bought a 2005 Prius package #6 with installed head rest DVD too. 201,000 THOUSAND MILES! I can't believe it did that!?? [grin] but dang the car is in remarkable condition, clean carfax and 1 single owner, @ $4,200 bucks, I couldn't refuse.

Currently averaging 42 MPG while learning to adapt driving habits to get more.

Anyways; I'm also new to smart key operation and OMG I only got 1 smart key which is scary! So, after studying and learning the ins and outs of these, new verses used etc.

The 'hat dance', 5 times master key, 6 times door, watch blinky security icon till it stops and presto bingo you're new key is partially programed. I got that but, I couldn't find this happening..

I picked up a cheap chipped key off e-bay. "2003 - 2011 Toyota Transponder Key - 4D 67 (Without logo)" $10 delivered. It's suppose to unite with prius's ecu but rather than blink 1 time after the hat trick and installing the new key backwards and holding it in, it began blinking 3 times, pause, 3 times, pause, etc and after an minute or two began flashing 1 time pause, 1 time pause and never stopped.. after holding dang key in backwards for 5 minutes, I give. after 4-5 attempts the key is not working.

So, what is the ECU trying to tell me with the 3 blinks?

#1 Jeff54, May 19, 2015
    Last edited: May 19, 2015
  2. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II