1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Grounding kit for the Prius - would it make sense?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Accessories & Modifications' started by rookie, Apr 17, 2005.

1. rookie

rookie New Member

I am really a newbie on the Hybrid technology (and do not own a Prius yet but am ordering one on Monday) so this might be obvious but...

I have had great results with installation of grouding kit into my 02 Nissan Altima. Engine (I4) runs smoother, my tranny shifting has improved (I can not figure that one out but there U go) and my lights are definitely brighter.

On this electricity focused car as the Prius is - would it make sense? I know now that Nissan was cheap with engine grouding in the Altima, I would only hope that is not the case with Toyota in this highly complex vehicle? Anyone know how well all this stuff is grounded?

2. DanMan32

DanMan32 Senior Member

Well, considering that the DC/DC converter is connected to the engine/Power split device and providing 80A+, I doubt there would be a ground problem. But it can't hurt either to add to it.

3. Areometer

Areometer Silver Business Sponsor

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    I asked Sun Automobile this exact same question nearly a year ago and they asked their engineers in Japan - no definite answer still as of today. I would love to know too but I don't intend to ground my Prius yet.

If any one wants to try a kit (not for free, but for a deep discount) on their Prius, let me know. Although I don't know exactly what size will suit the Prius...... Probably a Small kit.

4. Rick Grahn

Rick Grahn New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Sorry to be so dense, but what is a grounding kit (in simple terms, please)?

Thanks

5. Areometer

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
  6. DaveG

DaveG Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    My "Bullshit" detector is running at overload on that one...