Hands Free Blue Tooth set up

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by Malosos, May 5, 2017.

  1. Malosos

    Malosos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    108
    30
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I just picked up a 2010 Prius and having problems setting up the hands free and blue tooth feature, when I hit the buttons pictured I get nothing, I followed the directions on the owners manual but there is no response from the hands free unit...any suggestions?
    thx
     

    Attached Files:

  2. liskipper

    liskipper Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    373
    79
    9
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    May sound like a dumb question, but are you sure the phones bluetooth is on and in discover mode? Are you sure phone is paired correctly?


    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  3. Malosos

    Malosos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    108
    30
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    No such thing as a dumb question...yup my phones bluetooth was on and on discover mode, just not getting any beep or alert of any kind from the Prius when I try?
     
  4. dorunron

    dorunron Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    3,318
    1,090
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Try pairing the phone to the Prius using the display on the dash. I am guessing you have a radio that has a setup button on it. Hit Setup, then Bluetooth, then add device. Make sure the blue tooth is turned on on the phone you are trying to pair to the Prius, then pair the Prius to the phone, rather than trying to pair the phone to the Prius. The phone won't see the Prius, but the Prius will see your phone. Once the phone is paired properly then you can use the answer/hang up buttons on the steering wheel you pictured above.

    I did it on our 2013 without even reading the owner's manual. Just played with it until I figured it out.

    Once you get it paired properly you can dial from the display on the dash if the Prius is NOT moving, and you can answer a call when it comes in while you are driving by pushing the answer button on the steering column. To end the call simply push the hang up button.

    Hope this helps ya!

    Sorry I can't be more detailed, check your owner's manual and try again...
     
  5. Malosos

    Malosos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    108
    30
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Radio does not have a set up button on it, only way I have to set up is talk/phone buttons on the steering wheel, it's just not responsive.
    Bluetooth is on and checked owners manual...guessing maybe Bluetooth has been disconnected???
     
  6. Dyjital

    Dyjital Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    36
    37
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    bylass that system. Really. Seriously.

    Amazon: BT45-TOY
    I installed mine first week I had the car and DO NOT regret it.


    If you REALLY want to use it, I'm assuming you have the basic or basic with JBL deck.

    Hit the hang up button. Enter setup... LOOK AT THE RADIO... use the right knob and scroll through and go to Setup (push to select) > System Setup > initialize > that resets everything.

    Then go back into setup > phone setup > pair phone

    Don't use the voice commands. Only AFTER you enter setup to pair a phone will it be discoverable.

    And for the love of God, clear everything out before you pair your device.
     
    dorunron and Malosos like this.
  7. Malosos

    Malosos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    108
    30
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    FullSizeRender.jpg Looked into the BT45-TOY might have to go that route if I can't get this to work...tried your steps Dyjtal but got stuck at the "enter setup" I didn't see a set up on my steering wheel or dash/radio even when scrolling through?
    Ive attached a picture of my radio...
     
  8. dorunron

    dorunron Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    3,318
    1,090
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Malosos likes this.
  9. digbywombles

    digbywombles Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    18
    7
    0
    Location:
    GB
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Another dumb question... You are stationary when you try to set it up? Doesn't work if you're moving.
     
    Dyjital likes this.
  10. Malosos

    Malosos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    108
    30
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Yes I have been stationary when setting up.
     
    digbywombles likes this.
  11. dorunron

    dorunron Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    3,318
    1,090
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Dyjital and Malosos like this.
  12. Malosos

    Malosos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    108
    30
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    IMG_2643.jpg Thanks dorunrun I'll look at it but also wondering if the deck has anything to do with it? Would getting an upgraded deck like the one in the pic work?
     
    #12 Malosos, May 7, 2017
    Last edited: May 7, 2017
  13. dorunron

    dorunron Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    3,318
    1,090
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Not sure if the upgraded head unit would work or not. You will probably find it to be rather expensive.

    Take a look at page 329 in the pdf file along with the other pages in Section 3-3 of the file.

    Sorry I can't be of more help.
     
  14. dorunron

    dorunron Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    3,318
    1,090
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    The real question is this: Is your Prius equipped with "Blue Tooth"? Not all Pri are alike...

    Good luck again!
     
    Malosos likes this.
  15. Malosos

    Malosos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    108
    30
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm hoping it is, would it be if it had the steering wheel control and what looks like the mic?
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  16. Malosos

    Malosos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    108
    30
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    There is a deck like the pictured one close to me for $50 but like you said it does me no good if my Prius is not blue tooth equipped, wonder if there's a way to verify?
     
  17. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sand Pounder

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    45,954
    32,815
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Push the car's on button twice, without foot on brake. Then push the off-hook button:

    upload_2017-5-7_17-54-35.png

    Does it start talking to you, saying what commands are available? One'll be "setup", which you need to do to set up your phone. If it's not saying anything, something's broke. You can use either voice commands, or the radio buttons. It's been a while since I've interacted much with it, but I believe picking option's easiest via voice command, then the radio buttons for entering phone numbers.

    Pair phone starts on page 345 in the manual.

    Once phone is initalized, what I use a lot is "dial by name". Push the off-hook button, then say "dial by name". It's prompt to push the "listening" button (top one), and "say the stored name". It'll play back the name it thinks you said, and say to push off-hook button to dial, if it's correct name.

    lMy wife entered most of the names, but it recognizes my voice good enough too.
     
    dorunron and Malosos like this.
  18. Dyjital

    Dyjital Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    36
    37
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Sorry I got a little ahead of myself, I was typing that without looking at the radio. I'm currently uploading a video showing how it 'should' work when pairing a device to the factory system. My system has been initialized and is blank so it doesn't like to do anything without a device paired or numbers stored.



    same commands as below that were shared in the .PDF file thanks to @dorunron
     
    #18 Dyjital, May 7, 2017
    Last edited: May 7, 2017
    dorunron likes this.
  19. Dyjital

    Dyjital Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    36
    37
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    dorunron likes this.
  20. Malosos

    Malosos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    108
    30
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Thanks for the posts above Dyjital, but i get no response when I follow those steps, thinking my bluetooth has either been disconnected or does not work, might have to swing by the dealership to see if they can look into it.
     
    dorunron, Mendel Leisk and Dyjital like this.
Loading...