1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Have an energy monitor in a/every car?

Discussion in 'Environmental Discussion' started by priusist, Jan 17, 2005.

1. priusist

priusist New Member

As an engineer, I have been an efficient driver for a long time. I essentially broke the suggested MPG on my previous car. It is about 30 MPG for the 91 Acura Integra LS, but I used to have it about 30-32. My Prius seems to materialize my practice through its energy monitor. Like other prius owners, I'm fascinated in playing the MPG game/math.

I'm wondering that if every other cars has an energy monitor along with the speedometer, RPM reader, Gas/Temp meter, will that remind people to drive in a more efficient way? Without asking everyone to buy a hybrid or a car using alternative fuel, I guess this is a feasible way to consume fuel in a more sensible way.

2. techogurl

techogurl New Member

I feel that you have to be in the mindset to care. For example, I don't think everyone who buys a Prius really cares exactly how many MPG they get, but like the fact that it's better than what they drove before. So the same would go for other cars if a gauge were factory installed...some people would drive better and other people wouldn't even use it.

3. DaveinOlyWA

DaveinOlyWA 3rd Time was Solariffic!!

Vehicle:
    2013 Nissan LEAF
    Model:
    Persona
    i sincerely believe that if i had had a real time energy monitor that it might have helped me... but not sure how. before the Prius i was driving a Ford F-150 pickup and it was costing me a fortune to put gas in it and i did everything i could think of the increase the mileage.

but to be honest with ya, i dont know if i was not keeping good enough records or what, but i saw very little difference...in fact, i guess i gained about ½ mpg.

now realize that previous mileage tracking was a few years ago and it was fairly accurate (was tracked for work over 30,000 miles)