1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Hello, my user name is "tinsandwich" and I am new to Prius Chat.

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by tinsandwich, Jun 4, 2014.

1. tinsandwich

tinsandwich Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    A friend of mine has a 2011 Prius in which the female mini jack "AUX" connector dropped out of its mounting in the compartment of the center console. I don't know if this has happened to others but I thought I would share what I did to return the mini jack to its proper location and functionality.

First, the four bolts, found down in the same compartment as the "AUX" connector, had to be removed (these take a 10 mm socket if I remember correctly and an extender). Next, the plastic piece, against which the removable cup holder rests, has to be removed with gentle coaxing using a small flat-bladed screwdriver. This piece (made of black plastic in my friend's Prius) is held in place with tabs or clips and, once removed, reveals a fifth bolt that has to be removed. Finally, after removing this last bolt, the whole center console can be lifted out by gently pushing in the sides while simultaneously pulling back to free the console's tabs from the rest of the assembly.

At this point, now that the center console is no longer attached to the mounting, listen and check for a tiny black plastic backing piece that will most likely drop out from the underside of the console. This is the culprit/piece that has caused the mini jack to drop out of place in the center console and without it the mini jack will not be able to be put back in its place in the console.