1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Hello, Noob here

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by ladius, Jul 19, 2005.

1. ladius

ladius New Member

Hello everyone,

New to the forums here and glad to be able to tap into some knowledge.

I currently have an '00 Honda Accord that gets 22 mpg. I've been considering a Prius off and on for a while but the price of entry was a little high. Now I see some '01 and '02s that have gone down in price and put me back in the market.

I'm going to look at a '01 with 71,000 miles for $12,500.00 very soon. The seller is the 3rd owner who bought it CPO from the dealership. What would you suggest looking for when inspecting the car and what kind of questions should I ask?

I've done a rudimentary search under "buy*" and "used" and "classic" and got pages of posts that don't really have what I"m looking for. I did however find out that there are some TSBs (steering rack and battery) that I should ask about. Also, it seems people are wary of private sellers and that a car should be inspected by a Prius mechanic.

Any other suggestions would be most appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

2. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hey Ladius and welcome to PriusChat!

Well, with any used car, I'd get a certified mechanic that you trust to inspect it. Get a dealer to inspect the battery SOC and see that it's in tip top condition. Ask to see the full service records and check that all required maintenance has been done.

Not crucial, but check what tyres they have on the car since that would affect your mileage. The Classic came from the factory with LRR tyres. Switching to regular AS tyres will drop the mileage by a few mpg but in favour of better handling and possibly comfort.

3. jimofdg

jimofdg New Member

Tideland has not spoken Noob for a while. :wink: