1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Help me pick out a HU for my 2010 prius 3.

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by josharmour, Oct 11, 2009.

1. josharmour

josharmour Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I just traded in my 2008 Prius package 6 for a 2010 prius 3 without Nav. Why? Because I don't need Nav. I work in the cellular industry and I just want bluetooth handsfree plus bluetooth streaming. My cellular phone will be the NAV unit.

So I have read some threads about replacing the HU of a prius 2. I am hoping that someone has replaced there prius 3 with a unit that streams bluetooth and all the steering controls work.

So I want to be able to answer a call, volume up and down, hang up, change sources from steering wheel.

I have the jbl stereo but no Nav.

Ok so is there anyone out there that has done this?

2. josharmour

josharmour Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Maybe something like this.

Clarion FZ709

Along with the steering wheel adapter.

But then I wonder, can I set this receiver to use my internal mic that toyota put above the windshield?

3. Jayhawker

Jayhawker New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I would look into a Kenwood DNX 9140. I love mine. It pretty much has everything you will need.

4. josharmour

josharmour Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Jay, does this work with your steering wheel controls? What about the talk button (voice control button)?

5. mblue99

mblue99 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I am looking at the Eclipse AVN726E (once the double DIN dash piece is available in the US). Looks like you need a converter for the steering wheel controls and an adapter to go to the JBL amp (planning on leaving the amp).

6. josharmour

josharmour Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III