1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Her's a thought.

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by frodoz737, Feb 25, 2013.

1. frodoz737

frodoz737 Top Wrench

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    So we have EV's that will get 100 +/- miles per charge and Hybrids that will do 550 +/- per tank. Can someone explain to me why we can't have our cake and eat it too? I'm not an Engineer, but combining the two current technologies marketed just seems to be the battery from the EV and some software. But what do I know? Anyone? Mods please move to the correct area as I was unsure.

2. BZzap!

BZzap! Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Two factors come to mind: 1 Weight. 2 space.
    For now, battery technology is not advance enough to practically acheive a good compromise. EV vehicles don't have to deal with an ICE, therefore they need a large,heavy battery to get a range that is somewhat acceptable. A Hybrid that could achieve a 100 mile range in electric mode would simply be heavy. Without going into too much detail, that would bring up a whole other set of challenges. Boeing company is finding this to be true with the battery system on the 787 Dreamliner. They had to go to Aluminum wiring and Lithium batteries because of weight issues. It cost them dearly.

3. The Dude

The Dude Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    If you're referring to the Leaf, there was an article on the front page yesterday about its real world range dropping down to 30 mpg or so for cabbies in japan...it sure seems like there can be some serious improvements in battery technology.

Oh, and the Boeing thing BZ mentioned, any new developments on that? Last I heard, dreamliners were grounded in some areas of the world?

4. car compulsive

car compulsive Active Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two