1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Higher speed equals lower mileage? Not always...

Discussion in 'Other Cars' started by glenhead, Jul 6, 2006.

1. glenhead

glenhead New Member

It'll be interesting to see what discussion this spawns...

I make a trip between Austin and Waco (around 100 miles each way) every other week to take my daughter to spend the weekend with my ex. About once every six weeks or so, we go on the rest of the way to the Ft Worth area, where my parents, my wife's parents, and my ex live (around 200 miles each way). We make the trip in our 2005 1/2-ton Suburban 4x4, 5.3l V-8. Fully loaded with family, dogs, and assorted junk, we tip the scales at a tad over 6200 pounds.

I'm a statistical analysis engineer by education and experience. In my little world, there's no such thing as too much data. I've been tracking this for over a year, and have left out anomalous trips (heavy headwinds or tailwinds, or towing a trailer). The results are for both directions - the trip is pretty flat, elevation differential of less than 200 ft between here and there. 90% of the trips are made in the late afternoon. When I make a driving trip, the only time we leave the highway is for gasoline or nature breaks.

When I set the cruise control on 74 and leave it there, we can average just over 70mph for the trip. We get passed by about half the vehicles on I-35, but we're not impeding traffic - any slower is, frankly, unsafe. At that speed, I get an average of 17.6 mpg, +/- 0.3 mpg.