1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

How do I use the battery info on the comsumption screen?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by dennisd, Oct 6, 2004.

1. dennisd

dennisd New Member

I usually drive with the consumption screen on. I like to see what my current tank of gas is getting (49.7 mpg) and the right hand bar that shows me the mpg in real time. I don't understand the recharging of the battery over time and what the little "leaf cars" or "half leaf cars" mean. I would like to use the info to help with my mileage, but I don't really understand what it means. I am a newbie so this topic has probably been covered already, but my search comes up with hundreds of references. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

2. victor

victor New Member

Gilching Bavaria Germany, & Drapanos, Crete, G
    The little (MK1) prius outline indicates how much power you have regenerated during deceleration and breaking. Each car represents circa 50kwh I think, and I assume a half car is 25kwh. This power goes into your battery for reuse. A maximum of 4 cars can be shown in each 5 minute block.

Presumably, if you regenerate more its still stored, but unfortunatly not displayed, which is a shame. Ive often had 4 cars shown going down hils.

3. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    50kWh or 50Wh? I think it's Wh...

4. victor

victor New Member

Hummm Could be :oops: Maybe I had the Prius GT in mind :lol: :lol: :lol: :wink:

5. Frank Hudon

Frank Hudon Senior Member

consumption screen is the one you use the energy screen is the one you display when you want to dazzel your passengers. I've never really found a use for it, other than an odd check of the battery.

6. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A