1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

How does a Prius hold up in a crash?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by MyPria, Dec 4, 2005.

1. MyPria

MyPria New Member

Hello everyone,

I'm new to PriusChat and love my Pria, but I'm becoming somewhat concerned about how safe the car is in a crash. I've seen several postings here, the latest being Godiva's, that have been in accidents and the cars look trashed after a 10 or 15 mile hit. I wonder what one would look like if it got hit on the interstate at 75mph. Do we die with the car or survive? My other car is a 1994 325ic BMW. I've seen photos of the same model after being hit at a high speed and it looked amazingly still together. Are we all traveling in a death trap or what? Has anyone been smacked at high speed? Can you shed any light on this rather grim subject? :unsure:

2. tag

tag Senior Member

You could start by reading the following thread:

http://priuschat.com/index.php?showtopic=13177&hl=crash

FWIW, I've owned my 04 Prius for over a year and a half and can honestly say I feel as safe driving it as I have felt driving any other car (including a couple of monster SUVs I've owned).

3. MyPria

MyPria New Member

Tag,
    Thanks for the info. I must have missed that thread. It certainly made me feel much better.

4. DaveinOlyWA

DaveinOlyWA 3rd Time was Solariffic!!

Vehicle:
    2013 Nissan LEAF
    Model:
    Persona
    might want to check out this thread i posted last summer

http://priuschat.com/index.php?showtopic=9248&hl=crash