1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

How hard to steal?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by rlcarr, Sep 19, 2004.

1. rlcarr

rlcarr New Member

When we picked our car (package BC) up, our dealer was pushing GuidePoint very hard (a GPS tracker would be installed in your car -- see http://www.guidepointsystems.com/consumerserv.html). For the time being we've turned it down.

He acknowledged that the car is near-impossible to hotwire but said that the "pros" have figured out a way to fake out the engine computer such that it can be started without the fob (whether supposedly by bypassing the part of the start sequence that checks for the fob or by somehow cloning a fob, I don't know).

As a software engineer I know nothing is totally secure, and the car (like any car) is vulnerable to brute force if someone wants it for parts (i.e. put it on a flatbed and drive away with it). Nonetheless, I don't quite buy the story yet.

So how much do you buy the story and what have you guys done with respect to purchasing an aftermarket security system?

2. Speedracer

Speedracer New Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Prius is pre-much out of question it regarding to theft. I know differents inbetween Japan and U.S, but Im living in car theft capital in Japan but I dont warry about it. Because theif is not interest about this car.. I only worry about smash and grab...
    If theif will tow a way the Prius reather than hotwire.
    For my theft prevention, My Prius have ID number etched windows thats about it, If they want it they will take it no matter what... Unless you will install Lojack

3. TonyPSchaefer

TonyPSchaefer Your Friendly Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    The first-ever post I made to PriusChat was about stealing a Prius. I had the exact same concerns.