1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

How many idiots does it take to change a HID headlight bulb?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Gorilla97, Feb 21, 2014.

1. Gorilla97

Gorilla97 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    ...apparently just one (me)!

So tonight after work I decided to go ahead and tackle the job of changing the passenger HID bulb as it has been intermittently working the past few weeks.

I checked out the directions at PriusDIY.com and this site and felt pretty confident in my abilities. Although I'm no mechanic I can follow directions rather well and even watched a couple of videos to boost my confidence.

I removed the outer most push button holding the engine cover and then removed the push button and windshield fluid tube. I also decided to unfasten the two connectors near the windshield fluid reservoir and the connector to the back of the HID cover to give myself some extra space.

After a couple of moments wiggling the cover back and forth I got it to pop loose. I then removed the wire retaining clips and out popped the HID bulb! It had a large white spot on the glass which indicated it had indeed seen better days.

I inserted the new HID bulb, reinstalled the metal clips and reinstalled the wiring harness. I decided to check and make sure the HID bulb was functioning properly before putting everything back together so I went and turned on the headlight switch and nothing! Wth I'm thinking I must have somehow damaged the bulb because the driver side light was working just fine.

OK, so since I ordered two bulbs I decided to try out the other one and see if I had indeed damaged the first bulb. Here's where the fun begins..........