1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

How much does each charge cost or at least how could I calculate?

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Main Forum' started by Joe Wall, Aug 12, 2024 at 11:58 AM.

1. Joe Wall

Joe Wall Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I believe it is like 1.6 kw and I'd just need to multiply by the cost. I'm a travel nurse and looking at housing. A landlord asked so I'm just trying to do the calculations for her.

2. fuzzy1

fuzzy1 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    What car are you asking about? Your profile shows a 2009 Prius, which should not be plugging in at all, therefore having no plug-in electric charge cost.

3. Joe Wall

Joe Wall Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    2017 Toyota Prius Prime. bought one this year

bisco likes this.
  4. fuzzy1

fuzzy1 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I see its battery listed as 8.8 kWh, though a standard 'full charge' will use significantly less than that. I must let others chime in on how much it actually uses, after safety/buffer margins are set aside.

What is your local electric energy rate per kwh? If you don't know, then tell us the name of the local utility, we can look up its rate sheet online.

5. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    i divide my electric bill by the number of kwh used. we're currently around 40 cents per kwh, one of the highest in the nation. a prime would cost me around $2.50 per full charge, and then you have to estimate number of monthly charges.
    they make inexpensive meters you can place between your evse and the wall plug to shoe the landlord total kwh used.

6. Joe Wall

Joe Wall Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I'll be in Tuscon about 17 cents per kwh I'll looking up online. This is not where my primary residence is.