1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

How my first year of savings adds up

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Ray Moore, Apr 1, 2005.

1. Ray Moore

Ray Moore Active Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Well, it's been a great year. Last year on this date I bought my Prius. I got tired of waiting so I called more than 30 dealerships and found one that was my exact choice. April first found me on a plane to Denver and the next day I drove her home.

My old vehicle was a Ford F-150 that I had put 110,000 miles on at 15 miles per gallon. I needed this truck because I'm a contractor and I live on 33 acres where I always have multiple projects going. After two months of seeing it sit in the driveway and not wanting to set foot in it, I sold it for 9000$. It was due for a 500$ set of tires and a 500$ brake job in the next year. With that many miles on it I can figure on around 800$ a year until it became "found on the road dead".

This year I put 27,680 miles on the Prius. I averaged 52 MPG in the Prius. So here's the breakdown of costs and a comparison of expected costs if I had kept the truck.

Total gas used in Prius 532 gallons at total cost of 1,010$
    Total costs of 5 oil changes 95$
    Total costs 1,105$

Total interest expense will be covered by the income tax benefit.
    Total purchase price including tint, taxes and air fare. 27,600$

Now for the truck side. Mileage figure reduced to count for miles driven from Denver.

Total gas in F-150 3,388$
    Maintainance including oil changes 2,070$
    Total costs 5,458$