1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

How to give fuel milage a "boost" ?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by Ashly, Oct 10, 2009.

1. Ashly

Ashly New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Background:
    2006 gen II Prius: 70,000 miles: Barcelona Red

-I am a full time student, I drive my Prius around campus most of the time and take periodic trips home (3 hr. drive to the Northwoods of WI)

Hello Everyone,

I am a semi-newbie owner of my Prius, however I have been a bit dissappointed in my milage. I have read other posts to become more educated, and I do practice things like not using A/C and predicting stops well ahead of time, accelleration techniques..etc.
    I am currently averaging about 46-48mpg and I would love to see that number above 50. I am not interested in "hypermiling" or anything like that. I just want to "bump" my milage a bit.

Any simple ideas that could help me? :confused:

Thanks,
    Ashly

2. JimboK

JimboK One owner, low mileage

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
  3. Ashly

Ashly New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Thank you,

But I have already read this. I am generally educated on the basic "learning curve" of the Prius. Just wondering if there is anything not mentioned in this article that is a simple thing to do?

4. Matt Herring

Matt Herring New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Guessing by "around campus" you mean short trips (a mile or less). This will limit high mpg as by the time the car is warmed up...if it even gets to that point...you are shutting it back down.

Make sure your tires are properly inflated. And by properly inflated at mean at least to sidewall rating. I'm running about 10% over sidewall rating but that is up to you.

5. TonyPSchaefer

TonyPSchaefer Your Friendly Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced