1. The site is migrating to a new server this week, so there will likely be some downtime during that process. You can follow along here for updates.

How to reset oil maintenance data ? (Manual instructions did not work.)

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by Happy35234, Jul 17, 2019.

  1. Happy35234

    Happy35234 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2019
    5
    0
    0
    Location:
    CANADA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Prius 2013. From manual pg. 409

    [​IMG]

    But these steps did not reset oil maintenance data. Help!
     
  2. Happy35234

    Happy35234 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2019
    5
    0
    0
    Location:
    CANADA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    #2 Happy35234, Jul 17, 2019
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2019
  3. Grit

    Grit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    6,044
    4,002
    1
    Location:
    Wilkes Land
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Step 3, replace the word “pressing” with “holding down.”
     
    #3 Grit, Jul 17, 2019
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2019
    Raytheeagle and Mendel Leisk like this.
  4. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    11,415
    14,016
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Gen 3 is totally different from Gen 2. @Grit has the solution.

    The manual is stupidly worded. "Keep pressing" can sound like it should mean, "press repeatedly." But it actually means "hold down."
     
  5. FuelMiser

    FuelMiser Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    1,185
    824
    0
    Location:
    Monument, CO
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    This procedure just worked (as always has) on my 2014. Hold down the MPH/KM button while pressing the Power button. Keep holding the MPH/KM button down while the Progress Indicator completes. You can release the Power button as soon as the Progress Indicator appears, while still holding the MPH/KM button down.
     
    jerrymildred likes this.
  6. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    11,415
    14,016
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Exactly. There's no mention of "pressing" the power button; it just says to turn the power switch to "ON." (Which, of course, is done by pressing it, but not holding it.) (y)
     
  7. CR94

    CR94 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    2,567
    1,100
    0
    Location:
    Northwestern S.C.
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Other tips not clear in the manual:
    With car in READY state, shut down as usual, after making sure trip A is showing,
    With brake pedal NOT pressed, hold down the km-mile button, then press and release power button two times, while still holding km-mile button. Keep holding until display confirms you succeeded.
     
    Happy35234 likes this.
  8. Da1sy

    Da1sy Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    11
    4
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I have followed all of these steps and I still cannot clear the Maintenance required light. Yesterday the dealership that changed the oil told me they had tried to clear it also with no luck. Any ideas?
     
  9. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    11,415
    14,016
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    There's no excuse for the dealer not being able to do this. WOW! However, this is a question on the Gen 3 reset. Your Gen 2 is different. Here's how I reset it on my wife's '07. (page 131 in the manual)

     
    WilDavis likes this.
  10. 8AAGen2

    8AAGen2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    29
    21
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    I
    Sorry for not offering my experience sooner, but I just ran across this thread. I have a GenII and one time I had the oil changed and the technician told me that he couldn't reset the maintenance light. It wasn't the first time that had happened, and figured that he just didn't know how. I tried to reset it using the normal method of holding down the MPH/KM button while starting the car, but it didn't work this time. I tried it again with the same result. I was able to clear it by going into the maintenance menu on the Multi-Purpose Display and clearing it there. I don't understand why the normal shortcut didn't. Subsequent to that the shortcut method worked fine again.
     
Loading...