1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

How to save battery when on vacation?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by ladykira, Jun 6, 2006.

1. ladykira

ladykira New Member

OK - I'm new to this. My husband bought a used '05 Prius in April, then joined a van pool to his work, so the car doesn't get used as much as it should. I may have (get) to start driving it daily to my job per our dealer, since battery was dead this morning. OK, it jumped fine & dealer says we don't need a new one, the jump did the trick and my drive to the dealer helped.

What if we go on vacation? Can we unplug the battery so it doesn't drain?

Does the smart key in or out effect battery use?

I'll see if dealer can answer some of these but it may be late tonight before I can pick it up.

Thanks!

2. brandon

brandon Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    There have been several threads about people going on vacation, getting deployed, etc. and needing to store their not-in-use Prius for extended periods of time. I can't locate any of those threads at the moment, but it was suggested (and I believe it also says so in the manual) that if you plan on leaving your Prius alone for an extended period of time, say more than a week, you should disable the SE/SS (Smart Key) system by toggling the switch under the steering column. This will help prevent battery drain.

3. ladykira

ladykira New Member

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(brandon @ Jun 6 2006, 03:48 PM) [snapback]266867[/snapback]</div>
    Brandon - thank you for responding - the "funny" thing is that my husband already DISabled the smart key - I'm glad you verified the "expected" result .