1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Hurricane season is near-I use an Inverter on my Prius to run my fridge

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by ski.dive, Apr 7, 2024.

1. ski.dive

ski.dive Active Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius

Note:

I've been doing this for the last 7 years
    =I run the inverter-directly from the 12v battery.
    ***During the Hurricane outages - The inverter runs my full size refrigerator,

Two square floor fans and a few other small electrical items in the house

#1 ski.dive, Apr 7, 2024
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2024
  2. Tombukt2

Tombukt2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I would imagine you can do that and if you had like four or five 12 volt batteries you might even have more headroom I don't know how often it charges the full size refrigerator is about a 7 amp draw I think on startup and then just sitting there maybe 7 amps or something along those lines the floor fans pretty much no issue and the small appliances I'm assuming phone chargers and that sort of thing shouldn't really be a problem to put that in perspective to run my property here if I wanted to do such a thing when the power is out would take a about 20,000 Watts 23,000 somewhere right in there I could get by with essentials with around 10,000 but if I'm going to get $10,000 I might as well get closer to the 20 or 23 and be able to run it all problem is I don't want gas or propane it has to be diesel Diesel will be here forever the military runs on diesel Diesel's never going anywhere.

3. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    we have a propane full house generator. power isn't too reliable around her, even in the best weather

4. pasadena_commut

pasadena_commut Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A