1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Hybrid Car Research Project

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Mean Green JC, May 7, 2007.

1. Mean Green JC

Mean Green JC New Member

I am a student at the University of North Texas and I'm investigating why people buy hybrid cars for one of my marketing classes. If you all could answer a few short questions about hybrid cars and why you buy them, it would help my class understand why they are so important.

1.What are you really buying when you buy a Hybrid?

2. What type of person buys a Hybrid?

3. What influences someone to buy a Hybrid?

4. Did you buy a Hybrid to make a "difference"? If so what difference are you making?

Thank you for your time, your answers will help my project immensely.

-JC

2. Godiva

Godiva AmeriKan Citizen

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius

If you are referring the the Prius and not just any generic hybrid:
    Good mileage. Low emissions. High Technology. Great workmanship.

Homo Sapian.

What influences a persons to buy a laptop or a pillow top mattress or a microwave convection oven?

4. Did you buy a Hybrid to make a "difference"? If so what difference are you making?

Not entirely. I bought a Toyota Prius because it had the highest fuel economy except for the Honda Insight. The Insight seated two and the Prius seated five. The Prius had an automatic transmission. The Prius had low emissions. The Prius had a tax rebate. The Prius was built by Toyota (quality workmanship) and the hybrid system is warranteed for 10 years or 150,000 miles. The car sat well and did not hurt my back. The Prius cost about the same as my 1996 Saturn SC2 coupe so the price was right. The Prius was about the same size as my Saturn, but got twice the fuel economy. The ride is the smoothest I've ever driven. And a perk after the fact is that the MFD helps me to relax while I drive.