1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Hydrogen Power Questions ** found info on another forum

Discussion in 'Other Cars' started by bobjeri, Aug 4, 2005.

1. bobjeri

bobjeri New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Seems folks including Prez B think hydrogen as a fuel has real legs. But making H from water requires considerable electricity which must be generated somehow plus compression, transfer, etc. Petro, coal, hydro ?

Geo-thermal generation works in Iceland I've heard.

Anyone have a sense of the economics of this? -- superficially it doesn't make sense to me but I'm not an engineer.

No need to respond -- found a discussion of h technology in another forum.

2. Frank Hudon

Frank Hudon Senior Member

Ballard, one of the biggest Hydrogen companies in the world just announced that they were getting out of the development of Stacks for automotive applications. That I think says a lot if not all. One of the people in the interview said 20+ years still before it's economical for the automotive side of their business. MTBF is still in the 1-2,000 hour range and the price is still out of reach for all but the richest people in the world. Then there is the range problem and the refueling infrastructure. I for one don't believe all the hype surrounding hydrogen. Never have and never will. I'll be long dead and forgotten before it arrives. I don't think Ballard has ever had a business quarter without red ink and they have been working on Hydrogen Stacks for many years. Their stock is down about 67 cents in the last 2 trading days. Google Ballard and read.

3. Jonnycat26

Jonnycat26 New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Frank Hudon\";p=\"113613)</div>
    I just did and found this...

http://www.canada.com/vancouver/vancouvers...7b-b656e2540286