1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Hypermilling in a conventional car?

Discussion in 'Other Cars' started by des101, Jul 18, 2007.

1. des101

des101 New Member

I read about hypermilling and it seems like something I would like to try, minus things like
    tailgating a semi and other dangerous tricks. YIKES! I went on a trip with someone who did this.
    BTW, Mythbusters proved that this works with the caviot that it is thoroughly dangerous and crazy.

Anyway, any thoughts on conventional car hypermilling?
    I have a Toyota Corolla 1996 with almost 100,000 miles and am thinking of buying a Prius
    or other hybrid (leaning towards the Prius). I get about 33 miles per gallon and keep track of my
    mileage. I am a careful driver and don't tend to speed. But I would like to try a few other things.
    I am keeping my AC on in July, Aug and part of Sept though-- this is the desert Southwest.)

Things I thought of trying are the following:
    watch my tire pressure; parking so I can get out without backing up if possible; slow acceleration
    and pick up; watching mph; etc. These all seem pretty safe and tame but I have read of safety
    concerns for hypermilling. I can't figure out that unless they think you will tailgate a semi!!

BTW, for those of you who feel picked on in a Prius, it might be because you are going the speed
    limit. This is highly irritating to other drivers!! I know, because I get honked at for this. Another
    offense is slowing down before you get to a stop light. They will honk at this as well.

Destined to be honked at....

--des

2. JimboK

JimboK One owner, low mileage

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Des, welcome to PriusChat and -- potentially -- to Prius-dom!

There are many ways to squeeze maximum fuel economy out of any car. Check out CleanMPG for examples and lots of advice, including some specific to your car if you ask.