1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

I have priied. Newbie here

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by prion, Jul 4, 2005.

1. prion

prion Junior Member

Thanks to the responses to my should I priui or not.

I have priied, now. Traded the f-150 in on a salsa red, basic model. No extra packages, except for that plan b safety pack? ( 900 dollar cargo net)

I got the prius, knowing that financially it is a wash, versus keeping the truck. The reasons I got the prius. I like the technology. I like the better gas mileage, and reduced emmissions. Interior room is about the same as the F-150.

My experience so far;

Drove it about 400 miles this weekend. Good mix, of hills, and flat land. My average mileage, was about 43 mpg. Driving mostly highwat, with AC on high, at 70 MPG.

In my city driving so far, seems to be getting around 30 mpg. But I think I have a strategy to improve on that. Over all I like the car, and that mileage fits what I calculated before doing the deal.

Only took me four days to figure out how to put it in ready mode, consistently.

2. Godiva

Godiva AmeriKan Citizen

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    It will get better.

Your mileage will improve on each tank.

When I got mine my first tank was in the low to mid 40's. The next was 46-47. My last tank I averaged 50 mpg. They overfill the oil when it leaves the factory, so my mileage may also improve a bit when I have my first oil change. There may also be an improvement after the first 5,000 mile break in period.

Also....you'll learn to drive more efficiently with the display. You'll learn the car's aerodynamics allow you to coast a lot farther so you'll take your foot off the gas way down the road when you see a stop sign or red light. And you'll avoid the jack-rabbit starts. You'll also start to coast down hills and ease up inclines. Your driving style will change. And you'll probably feel more relaxed as you drive.

Congrats.