1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

I think I have gone full circle on the Wheels

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by NoMoShocks, Jul 6, 2007.

1. NoMoShocks

NoMoShocks Electrical Engineer

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I never worried too much about the wheels on my Standard Prius, until I started seeing some others upgrades. Then for a while I started feeling like they must be changed, but I need to keep the weight down very close to factory 15 lbs. I started searching eBay for a "deal" and I found these 2003 Corola Wheels that I thought looked sort of nice. As a bonus, they came with a set of brand new integrity tires, but in the 165/R65 size. Then, the more I studied them, they aren't that much different than the originals, and as far as I could find out, I think they weigh about 17 lbs. (They ended up going to the high bidder for $405 + about $100 shipping)

[attachmentid=9488]

I actually like the extra detail on the factory wheels where the spokes turn in (the area covered by the transport protection rigns). Then I looked again today and think, they sure look tiny on there, like little toy wheels. I think I would like some 16 inch wheels, but don't want to go to 17 due to weight and harsher ride.

What do you all think? Scale of 0 - 10 with 10 is your idea of the coolest wheels, do these originals at least score a 6 or 7? No one has come up to me in the parking lot to say "Where did you get those, I want some just like those!". If a bunch of you say 6, 7 or 8, I might be able to save myself some money.

[attachmentid=9490]

Attached Files:

2. bobdavisnpf

bobdavisnpf Member

I give 'em an 8 because of their very low weight.