1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

I think my Prius not starting is going to be much different than the other posts here...

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Bulbuh16, Dec 9, 2018.

1. Bulbuh16

Bulbuh16 New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Here is the situation: I had a bad evap core coil, and the dealership wanted $4000 to fix it on my 2005 Toyota Prius. Hard NO. So I am a mechanic of another trade, so I buckle down and go to the Toyota tech site, grab the manuals, and take about a month to do it. Just a little bit each day and time change really sucked because it took away my daylight(but gave me cool days in Florida to work!).

Anyways, that’s all changed out, including the heater core by recommendation of every friend I have. Pressure tested, vacuum pulled, and charged. I set out to put the whole car back together this past weekend.

Wouldn’t you know it? I have power(12.2v tested) at the battery, lights work, dash lights work, horn works, remote unlocks and locks, etc...but the car won’t power on at the ignition switch!

I mean there are no lights when I push the power button. The car whirs when I push the brake in like normal, but brake pushed or not, key inserted or not, the power button does jack. The MFD stays black too. No sign of life.

I have pulled the dash back apart to find a missed connection SOMEWHERE, and I have come up with nothing. I was very meticulous, took picures, and checked everything! I’m going crazy. What could cause a non responsive power button that didn’t give issues before?

2. tankyuong

tankyuong Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    II
    Try a new 12v battery

edthefox5 likes this.
  3. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    1. Put a charger on the 12V battery as 12.2V is very marginal.