1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

i'm a newbie.

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by doiwantaprius, Jun 29, 2007.

1. doiwantaprius

doiwantaprius New Member

Hello all.
    Looking to sell my current vehicle and purchase a prius... is there any years I should stay away from? I'm trying to go as cheap as possible so it will prob an 01 or 02. I saw a lot of modifications for 04 and up but what about the echo looking model? ha!
    I would like to put an ev only switch on the older model and possible add to the battery capicity. I would consider my self a moder and would also look into plug in conversion.
    is this doable on the older model? or should i just fork up the extra cash for an 04?

Thanks for the input!

2. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    There is not an EV switch option for the 1st generation ('01-'03). While those are still good cars, available at decent prices and quite reliable they're certainly not the car that the '04+ are.

If you have the cash I'd look for a late '05+. Again, I have an '04 and it's a great reliable car, and if you can get a better deal it would be fine, but the late '05+ models addressed many of the minor issues that were discovered on the '04 (gas tank issues, traction control agressiveness, MFD failures, etc). You get a car with many more aftermarket toys available and a lot more available mods. More importantly you'll have a larger, more fuel efficient and refined car than what you'll get in the 1st Gen Prius.

3. NoMoShocks

NoMoShocks Electrical Engineer

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV