1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

I'm Kampy, just starting my quest for a 3rd Gen Prius...

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by Kampy, May 14, 2012.

1. Kampy

Kampy Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Hello PriusChat peeps... :)

Been lurking for a while, but now that I've decided that I definitely want to buy a Prius, I thought I'd start posting...

About me:

I live in Los Angeles (Sherman Oaks), I work as a designer at Disney in Burbank, and I'm also a photographer who's really into concerts, festivals, and the west coast festival culture (Burning Man, etc). I went to school at Mizzou and am a big sports fan, and a gadget geek/Apple loyalist (Mac user since the 80s)

My 2000 Nissan Xterra 4x4 has served me well on many adventures over the past 12 years, but now has 180K miles and is ready to be replaced. I tend to keep my cars a long time (like, a decade) so I want my next car to have the best MPG possible, because who knows what gas will cost in 5 years.

I know that I want a 2010-2012 Prius, either new or used, and am just starting the process of doing my research before buying. I tend to do a lot of homework before making a big purchase like this, so I will be asking a lot of questions on these forums.

I hope to use PriusChat to gather more info on these topics:

• pros/cons of buying used vs. new
    • good Toyota dealers in the SoCal area
    • pros/cons of buying a salvage title used Prius
    • the changes/updates in the the 2012 model refresh
    • strategies for getting the best deal possible at a dealership

I hope PriusChat will be as helpful as sccxterra.com was before I purchased my Xterra 12 yrs ago. This seems to be the biggest and best Prius forum out there... but are there any others I should be aware of?

Thanks in advance for all the helpful info. I can't wait to join the ranks of proud Prius owners.

Kampy

2. Keiichi

Keiichi Active Member